top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolli

How to Sew a Baby Blanket (DIY Beginner Friendly and under $10)

Updated: May 31, 2023

I love #DIYgifts! Why? Because in this busy world someone took their precious time to sit down and craft a handmade item. It's a gift of thought, a gift of intention, a gift of time. Baby items are a great place to start when you want to try your hand at sewing. Ready? Yes you are! You got this!


Quick and Easy DIY Blanket
DIY Gauze Baby Blanket with DIY Bias Tape

A baby blanket is one of the very first things I learned how to sew. Sewing caught my attention at a very young age, somewhere in late elementary school. I would spend the hot summers down on my grandparents land: fishing, gardening, bike rides and trips into town. It's also where I learned to sew, sitting on green carpet, in the middle of the living room floor. With a needle in hand and an old night gown, that summer time craft captured my heart.


If this is your first time sewing, I want to ask you to do something before you begin---give yourself grace and expect mistakes. I know you're thinking, "Ghee, that doesn't sound very encouraging..."But hear me out --- anytime you try anything new, it's hard. Sewing is no different. But you're here and you're interested! See, you've already done the hardest part!



Materials

Cream Gauze Fabric (Hobby Lobby, $4.79 @ 1 yd.- sale) Floral Fabric (Hobby Lobby, $1.20 @ .25 yd. - sale) Thread (Coordinating Color)

Equipment

Sewing Machine Iron

Tip #1 - Always pre-wash and dry your fabric before starting a project.


Step 1

After you have washed a dried your fabric, you may need to iron it.


Step 2

Cut you fabric to the desire length. In this case, I folded my yard of fabric in half. As a result, my blanket size was 22" length & 18"width. You may need to square up your fabric for straight edges.


Step 3

Cut your bias tape. I folded my 1/4 yard floral fabric in half and cut it into 2" strips. So, the strips ended up being 2" X 44". See pro tip below.


Tip #2 - If you are a beginner, it would be easier to make your bias tape 3" wide when sewing.

How to Make an Easy Baby Blanket
Gauze Baby Blanket and Scrap Bias Tape

Step 4

Take your bias tape to the iron. With the wrong side facing up, fold your fabric in half and press to create a crease. This crease will serve as the center line. Then, unfold, and take the bottom of the fabric and fold it to the center. Repeat with the top. Then, fold inhale again. Press as you go. See video below.



Step 5

Because one strip of bias tape will likely not be long enough, you will need to sew the bias pieces together to make on long piece of fabric. With right sides together, with 1/4" seam allowance, sew you bias tape together. Check out the video below for referral.



Step 6

Now it's time to attach your bias tape to your blanket. Usually, you sew one side of the bias tape with your machine, then you fold it over and hand stitch the other side. Why hand stitch? So that you don't see any thread. But, who has time for that? So, I'm showing you how to attach, then sew. No hand stitch required. However! If you went with a small bias tape (like mine), you will want to make sure that your needle is set appropriately so that your needle doesn't miss the fabric on either side. You can use pin or clips, I use both. You will want to slide the gauze blanket in-between the bias tape fold. The corners are the hardest part - but you got this!




Step 7

Just before you are done sewing the bias tape, leave about 1" of extra, fold the raw edge inward about 1/4" or so. Allow it to overlap where you initially started sewing and complete the bias tape attachment. Remember to back stitch whenever started or ending a stitch.



Tip #3 - I always wash, dry and inspect before gifting the fabric item. I would never want the recipient to use it once and it fall apart. There is usually no issue - but just good practice.



Guess what? You did it! Yay!


I'm super proud of you!Now, if you messed up that is okay! I mess up in someway or another of every project I do. It's just part of it. Now, I didn't get into the seam allowance, or thread length. If you want to know more about that, then check out this graphic I made here.

4 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page