top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolli

How to Build a Wooden Step Stool (in 1 hour or less!)

Updated: May 23, 2023

If you are looking to try your hand at #DIY then this is a great project to start with. With easy to follow, step-by-step instructions, this step stool is an #easy and #affordable way to tip-toe into the world of DIY.

Farmhouse Step Stool
Simple DIY Wooden Step Stool

I was strolling through Hobby Lobby the other day and I came across a super cute step stool perched high up on the shelf. I asked the associate to get it down for me. I was head-over-heels in love and knew that I had to have it---until I saw the price tag. It was $150! Even at half off, that was still $75. For that price, I was happy with my red and black scuffed-up, metal step stool.


On my way home, I wondered how much it would cost for me to make my own. So, I sketched out my the step stool and got to work.


Material:

*” indicate an alternative option is available should you not have the specific tool or material.

Take note, if you have never purchased wood in the past measurements are roughly 1/2" off of the nominal size. For example, if you are purchasing a 2" X 6" @ 6', that is the nominal size. However, the actual size is 1.5" X 5.5" @ 6'. (I didn't know this when I first started out.)



UPDATE: I would suggest making the second step (tallest step), 1 inch higher/taller.

Plans: Step Stool


Step Stool Plans
DIY Wooden Step Stool Plans

Step Stool Plans
DIY Wooden Step Stool Plans


"Measure Twice, Cut Once"


Or in my case---measure 7 times, then cut. But, there is another tip I want to share before you cut. Make sure you know where to cut, because if you don't you wood will be a smidge short every cut.


Step Stool Plans
DIY Wooden Step Stool Plans

Step One: Make your Cuts

For me it was easier to make all of my cuts at once. But, feel free to do what works for you. Below are the dimensions of your cuts.

  • (2) 14 1/2" X 6" (remember actual size will be 5.5")

  • (2) 9 3/8" x 6"

  • (2) 4 1/2" x 6"

  • (2) 9 13/16" X 2"

  • (6) 5 3/8" X 2"

Step Two

Take your 14 1/2" X 6" cuts and 4 of your 5 3/8" X 2". Use the 5 3/8" to cover the raw edge of the 14 1/2". (Note the raw edge is the edge you cut; the end of the board.)


Step Stool Instructions DIY
Attach 1x2's to cover the raw edge.

Step Three

Take your 9 3/8" X 6" cuts and the remaining 2 of your 5 3/8" X 2". Use the 5 3/8" to cover the raw edge of the 9 3/8". We will cover the back in a moment.


Step Stool Instructions DIY
Attach 1x2 to raw edge using a nail gun

Step Four

Now you will need to determine which side of 9 3/8" board you would like facing outward. Once determined, place that side flat on the ground. I placed my Kreg drill marks about 1 1/2" in, using my 14 1/2" board for reference.


Step Stool Instructions DIY

Repeat the same step on the opposite end of the board of 9 3/8" board. You can use the 14 1/2" for reference again. Don't be alarmed if the 14 1/2 hangs off the 9 3/8 board a bit, we will be adding a 1X2 to cover/make up the difference.


Step Five

Next using your Kreg pocket hole system, drill your holes. (Note: You can do this using a drill bit slightly smaller than your screw. Drill at an angle carefully to not go through the board. Drill about 2" from the bottom of the board, or where you made you mark.) See picture below for reference.


Step Stool Instructions DIY
Attach the out frame using a pocket hole system

Step Seven

Next lay the good side (what will be the top of the step) of the 14 1/2" on the ground. Grab your 9 3/8 board and line it up perfectly with the 14 1/2" board. Then, using the screws, attached the boards together (outer edge and front edge flush together).


Step Stool Instructions DIY
Assembling the Step Stool


Step Eight

After you have attached the 2 pieces, you will need to repeat the same thing on the other side of the 14 1/2" board, using the other pre-drilled 9 3/8" piece.


Step Nine

Grab your 4 1/2" X 6"piece and align the edged perfectly to the 9 3/8" piece. Then, using the screws, attached the boards together. (Note: I had to use extra boards to add stability while attaching the 4 1/2" to the 9 3/8".)


Step Stool Instructions DIY
Assembling the Step Stool


Step Ten

After you have attached the 2 pieces, you will need to repeat the same thing on the other side. When you have attached both sides, your board should look like this.


Step Stool Instructions DIY
Attach the top (steps) of the step stool

Step Eleven

Next, using a nail gun (or nails), attach the 9 13/16" X 2 to the back of the step stool, covering the raw edges of the 2 pieces.



Step Stool Instructions DIY
Attache the 1x2's to cover the raw edges

Step Stool Instructions DIY
1x2's attached

Step Twelve

Flip your stool over and make a mark on the 4 1/2" piece, same distance in on each side, about 1 1/2". Again using extra boards to add stability.


Next, place your other 14 1/2" board (good side flat on the ground), line up 4 1/2" board (exterior to exterior) and screw to attach. Repeat on other side.


Step Stool Instructions DIY
Secure the steps with screws


Step Thirteen

You're almost done. Paint and stain! Or paint. Or stain.


And....DONE!

You did it! I'm so proud of you! It may not be "perfect" and that okay. Personally I love it when things aren't perfect---it makes it feel home-y. But it's also proof of progress!


Keep it for yourself, or gift it to someone. I think these make great house warming gifts!



One Hour, Simple DIY Wooden Step Stool
One hour (with plans!) Wooden Step Stool

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page